Uncategorised

How to Convert a Business to a Co-operative or Social Purpose Organization (SPO)

Format: Online only via Zoom Wednesday January 24th at 1pm EST/10 am PST/ 11am MT/ 12pm CT/ 2pm AT Presenters Russ Christianson: Co-op Developer and Coach at InnoweaveJennifer Williams: Employee Ownership SpecialistJuliet ‘Kego Ume- Onyido co-founder of Whole Woman Network (a worker co-op) and Black Women Professional Worker Co-op (a multi-stakeholder Co-op) Event Description This How to Convert a Business to a Co-operative or Social Purpose Organization (SPO)


Read more

What is a worker Co-op? 2024 event

REGISTER VIA EVENTBRITE >> Monday, January 22,  2024 12 pm ET Part of CWCF’s Free webinar series This introductory training in the cooperative enterprise, covers the 4 main types of cooperatives and more specifically covers all the aspects affecting the functioning of a cooperative managed by workers: internal organization, legal guidelines, capital structure, conditions for What is a worker Co-op? 2024 event


Read more

Solidarity Shopping

CWCF launched its Solidarity Shopping program to encourage members and supporters to find and shop from worker co-operatives across Canada.   You can link here to see our list.  Members are encouraged to sign-up here if they wish to be included in the list. 


Read more

CWCF Emergency Relief / Survival Planning Funding (SPF)

The Canadian Worker Co-op Federation (“CWCF”) has previously offered small grants, through our accumulated reserves, to worker co-operatives to help pay for consulting services such as for marketing, financial administration, expansion, conflict resolution or legal issues. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the challenges many worker co-ops are facing as a result, CWCF is converting CWCF Emergency Relief / Survival Planning Funding (SPF)


Read more

A Message from CWCF

With the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, we find ourselves in the midst of difficult times and a rapidly changing situation.  We have set up a post on our website that already contains many valuable resources, and we will be adding to it as more become available.  But in the meantime, we wanted to let A Message from CWCF


Read more

Update on the Investment Readiness Program

By BC Co-op Association, shared with permission The Investment Readiness Program (IRP) is a 2-year $50 million pilot program designed to help advance Social Innovation and Social Finance in Canada by building on existing supports to help catalyze community-led solutions to persistent social and environmental challenges. The pilot will provide a learning opportunity to inform future direction on Update on the Investment Readiness Program


Read more

Climate Leadership through Electric Vehicle Production in Oshawa

By Hazel Corcoran CWCF and Green Jobs Oshawa funded a preliminary feasibility study on transitioning to electric vehicle (EV) production under democratic ownership at the GM plant in Oshawa.  After having received over $10.8 billion in federal and Ontario government bail-outs in 2009, some of which was never repaid, GM Canada announced last year that Climate Leadership through Electric Vehicle Production in Oshawa


Read more

August, 2019 Executive Director Report

By Hazel Corcoran In this report, I’ll focus on CWCF’s upcoming Conference and our technical assistance grant program.  The report also includes a brief update about our video with Noam Chomsky, CWCF’s upcoming website overhaul, our recent staff meeting, and GM Oshawa. Plans are well underway for CWCF’s annual Conference, with the theme of Building August, 2019 Executive Director Report


Read more